NSE Notifies of Trading Suspension In The Shares Of CONOIL, FTNCOCOA and Nine Other Listed Companies


Tuesday, July 2, 2019, 02:30PM /NSE


The Nigerian Stock Exchange (NSE) has announced the suspension of trading of shares in eleven companies as a result of their failure to comply with filing rules for their audited and periodic results, seven of the eleven companies were from the Insurance sector. According to the Exchange’s release:

Dealing Members are hereby notified that pursuant to Rule 3.1, Rules for Filing of Accounts and Treatment of Default Filing, Rulebook of The Exchange (Issuers’ Rules) (“Default Filing Rules”), which provides that; “If an Issuer fails to file the relevant accounts by the expiration of the Cure Period, The Exchange will:

(a) Send to the Issuer a “Second Filing Deficiency Notification” within two (2) business days after the end of the Cure Period;

(b) Suspend trading in the Issuer’s securities; and

(c) Notify the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) and the Market within twenty- four (24) hours of the suspension”, the shares of the eleven (11) under listed companies have been suspended from trading via the facilities of The Exchange, effective today, Tuesday, 2 July 2019:

1. Conoil Plc

2. FTN Cocoa Processors Plc

3. Goldlink Insurance Plc

4. Guinea Insurance Plc

5. Lasaco Assurance Plc

6. Niger Insurance Plc

7. R.T. Briscoe (Nigeria) Plc

8. Resort Savings & Loans Plc

9. Royal Exchange Plc

10. Standard Alliance Insurance Plc

11. Universal Insurance Plc

In accordance with the rules set forth above, the suspension of the above listed companies will only be lifted upon the submission of the relevant accounts and provided The Exchange is satisfied that the accounts comply with all applicable rules of The Exchange.

Table: Suspended Companies And Their Default Filings



Last Results Released

Results Expected


Conoil Plc

Q3 2018

FY 2018 and Q1 2019


FTN Cocoa Processors Plc

Q3 2018

FY 2018 and Q1 2019


Goldlink Insurance Plc

Q3 2018

FY 2018 and Q1 2019


Guinea Insurance Plc

Q3 2018

FY 2018 and Q1 2019


Lasaco Assurance Plc

Q3 2018

FY 2018 and Q1 2019


Niger Insurance Plc

Q3 2018

FY 2018 and Q1 2019


R.T. Briscoe (Nigeria) Plc

Q3 2018

FY 2018 and Q1 2019


Resort Savings & Loans Plc

Q3 2018

FY 2018 and Q1 2019


Royal Exchange Plc

Q3 2018

FY 2018 and Q1 2019


Standard Alliance Insurance Plc

Q3 2018

FY 2018 and Q1 2019


Universal Insurance Plc

Q3 2018

FY 2018 and Q1 2019


Source NSE

Proshare Nigeria Pvt. Ltd.

Related News

1.           NSE Identifies Lafarge, Conoil, 32 Others As Companies That Fell Short of Minimum Listing Standard

2.          NSE Releases Latest X-Compliance Report; Includes Fine for Disclosure Violations, Free Float Def. – Apr 23, 2019

3.          Insurance Firms Filings and X-Compliance Status Ahead Of Recapitalization Deadline – Sep 12, 2018

4.          X-Compliance Report: Early Filers and Defaulters as at 5th August 2016 – Aug 11, 2016

5.          Level of Compliance and Free Float Deficiencies on NSE – Jun 07, 2016

6.          DANGCEM, UBN and 9 Others Still Have Free Float Deficiencies – Jul 02, 2015

7.          X-Compliance Report: NSE places Afroil Plc on Regulatory Delisting – Jul 09, 2013

8.         Free Float Deficiencies: CHELLARAMS Yet to Comply as due date elapse – Mar 03, 2015

9.          X-COMPLIANCE: 32 Delinquent Filers of Accounts & 5 Equities with Free Float Deficiencies – Feb 08, 2013

10.      X-Compliance Report for period ending December 31, 2012 – Jan 01, 2013

11.       NSE releases latest X-Compliance report – Nov 13, 2012

Proshare Nigeria Pvt. Ltd.

Related News