STERLNBANK To Hold 58th AGM on May 20, 2020


Thursday, April 16, 2020 / 10:40 AM / NSE / Header Image Credit: Sterling Bank

Notice is hereby given that the 58th Annual General Meeting of Sterling Bank Plc will be held at the MUSON Centre, Onikan, Lagos, on Wednesday, the 20th day of May, 2020 at 10.00 am to transact the following business:

Ordinary Business

1.  To receive the Audited Financial Statements for the year ended 31st December, 2019 and the Reports of the Directors, Auditors and the Audit

1.       Committee thereon.

2.      To declare a Dividend

3.      To elect/re-elect Directors

(a) To elect Mr. Ramesh Rajapur as a Non-Executive Director

(b) To elect Mr. Tunde Adeola as an Executive Director

(c) To elect Mr. Raheem Owodeyi as an Executive Director

(d) To re-elect the following Directors retiring by rotation:

Mr. Asue Ighodalo

Mr. Olaitan Kajero

4.      To approve the appointment of Messrs. Deloitte & Touche as the new Auditors of the Company

5.      To authorize the Directors to fix the remuneration of the Auditors

6.      To elect members of the Statutory Audit Committee



1. Proxy

A member of the Company entitled to attend and vote at the Annual General Meeting is entitled to appoint a proxy to attend and vote in his/her stead. A proxy need not be a member of the Company. To be valid, acompleted proxy form must be duly stamped at the Stamp Duties office and deposited at the office of the Registrar, Pace Registrars Limited, AKuro House (8th floor), 24 Campbell Street, Lagos not less than 48 hours prior to the time of the meeting.

2. Dividend

If approved, a dividend in the sum of 3 Kobo for every share of 50 kobo will be paid on 20th May, 2020 to shareholders whose names are registered in the Register of Members at the close of business on 4” May, 2020.

3. Closure of Register

The Register of Members and Transfer Books of the Company will be closed from 5th May to 8th May, 2020 (both dates inclusive), to enable the Registrar prepare for payment of dividend.

4. E-Dividend Mandate

Shareholders are requested to update their records and advise Pace Registrars Limited of their relevant bank accounts for the payment of their dividends. Detachable forms in respect of mandate for e-dividend payment, unclaimed dividend payment and shareholder data update are attached to the Annual Report for convenience. The forms can also be downloaded from Pace Registrars Limited's website at The duly completed forms should be returned to Pace Registrars Limited, Akuro House (8th Floor), 24, Campbell Street, Lagos or to the nearest Sterling Bank Plc branch.

5. E-Annual Report

The electronic version of the Annual Report is available at Shareholders who have provided their email addresses to the Registrars will receive the electronic version of the Annual Report via email.

6. Statutory Audit Committee

The Statutory Audit Committee consists of three shareholders and three Directors. Any member may nominate a shareholder as a member of the Statutory Audit Committee by giving notice in writing of such nomination to the Company Secretary at least twenty-one (21) days before the Annual General Meeting. The Securities & Exchange Commission's Code of Corporate Governance provides that members of the Statutory Audit Committee Should have basic financial literacy and should be able to read financial statements. We therefore request that nominations be accompanied by a copy of the nominee's curriculum vitae.

7a. Election of Directors

i.     Mr. Ramesh Rajapur is being proposed for election as a Non-Executive Director to fillan existing vacancy.

ii.  Mr. Tunde Adeola Is being proposed for election as an Executive Director to fillan existing vacancy.

iii.  Mr. Raheem Owodeyi is being proposed for election as an Executive Director to fill an existing vacancy.

The appointment of the three Directors has been approved by the Central Bank of Nigeria and will be presented for Shareholders' approval at the 58th Annual General Meeting.

The profiles of the aforementioned Directors are available in the Annual Report and also on the Bank's website at

7b. Re-election of Directors

In accordance with the provisions of the Articles of Association, the Directors to retire by rotation at the 58" Annual General Meeting are Mr. Asue Ighodalo and Mr. Olaitan Kajero. The retiring Directors, being eligible, offer themselves for re-election.

The profiles of the Directors retiring by rotation are available in the Annual Report and on the Bank's website at

8. Shareholders Right to ask Questions

Shareholders reserve the right to ask questions not only at the meeting, but also in writing prior to the meeting on any item contained in the Annual

Report and Financial Statements. Please send questions to not later than 13th May, 2020.


Visit Sterling Bank Plc IR Page in Proshare MARKETS 

Graph - One Year Share Price Movement

Proshare Nigeria Pvt. Ltd.


Table:  2019 Audited Results

Proshare Nigeria Pvt. Ltd.


Related News

1.       STERLNBANK Notifies of Dealing in 300m Volume of Shares By Mrs. Tairat Tijani...

2. STERLNBANK Declares N10.6bn PAT in 2019 Audited Results, Proposes N0.03K Final Div(SP:N1.08k)

3.      STERLNBANK Declares N10.8bn PAT in 2019 Q4 Unaudited Results,(SP:N2.39k)

4.      STERLNBANK Declares N7.58bn PAT in Q3 2019 Results,(SP:N2.00k)

5.      STERLNBANK Appoints Temitayo Adegoke As Company Secretary and Chief Legal Counsel; J. Lewa Retires

6.      STERLNBANK Declares N5.66bn PAT in Q2 2019 Results,(SP:N2.24k)

7.      STERLNBANK Announces the Appointment of Mr. Femi Jaiyeola as CCO of the Company

8.     STERLNBANK Announces Appointment of New Executive and Non-Executive Directors

9.      STERLNBANK declares N3.24bn PAT in Q1 2019 Results,(SP:N2.70k)

10.  STERLNBANK declares N3.24bn PAT in Q1 2019 Results,(SP:N2.70k)

Related News