Ghana SEC DG, Elumelu, Okoya-Thomas, others for 2014 PEARL Awards


Friday, November 14, 2014 8:00am/ Pearl Awards NG


The Director-General of Ghana Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC); Mr Adu Antwi, Chairman, Heirs Holdings; Mr. Tony Elumelu and Mr. Tonye Cole, CEO of Sahara Group are among dignitaries that have confirmed their participation as Special Guests of Honour and Guest of Honour respectively at the 19th edition of the Performance Earnings and Returns Leadership Awards, popularly known as the PEARL Awards. Also confirmed as Chairman of occasion is Chief Molade Okoya-Thomas, Chairman, CFAO Nigeria PLC, while the Director- General, SEC Nigeria, Arunma Oteh is also expected as Special Guest of Honour.


According to the organizers, the 2014 Awards comes up in Lagos on November 30, 2014 at the Grand Ball Room of the prestigious Eko Hotel & Towers, Victoria Island.


The PEARL Awards, instituted in 1995 and organized annually over the past 19 years is widely acknowledged and applauded by capital market stakeholders including quoted companies, stockbrokers, Registrars, Shareholders Associations, and top economic chieftains among others, for its objectivity and impartiality over the years.


The Awards would be in three main competitive categories namely the Sectoral Leadership Awards, which rewards a company for outperforming other companies within the same sector, based on aggregate points garnered from all the ten indices utilized for ranking. The Market Excellence Awards category,  based on recognition of entire market leadership in respect of each of the ranking indices while the third category is the Overall Highest Award category, The PEARL of the Nigerian Stock Market.


The honorary category of the Awards has the Special Recognition Award for Capital Market Development. Notable past recipients under this category include Mr Gamaliel Onosode, Dr Suleyman Ndanusa, Dr Christopher Kolade, Otunba Subomi Balogun, Dr Umar Faruk and Mr Wole Adetunji, Ms Arunma Oteh, Chief Olusegun Osunkeye and Alhaji Aliko Dangote.


Also under the honorary category is the PEARL outstanding Chief Executive Officer of the year Award, which has been won by the following, among others Mr, Jim Ovia, Chairman of Zenith Bank Plc, Mr Bisi Onasanya GMD / CEO First Bank, Dr Fidelis Ayebae, MD/CEO, Fidson Healthcare Plc and Mr Chidi Okoro, former MD/CEO Glaxo SmithKline Consumers Nigeria Plc.


This year Awards, as in past years, will be determined utilizing key ten of the globally acceptable parameters which include, Turnover Growth; Return on Equity; Share Price Appreciation; Dividend Cover; Profit Margin Ratio, Earnings Yield, Net Assets Ratio, etc.

The PEARL Awards is the only Award that identifies and rewards companies quoted on the Nigerian Stock Exchange (NSE), using empirical and clearly defined criteria and methodology. The awards process is based on verifiable facts and figures assessed utilizing credible and acceptable parameters and tools of data evaluation.


Related News

1.2014 Pearl Awards Nite Press Conference; DANGCEM & FO Among Nominees 

2.FBN Holdings, others bag laurels at PEARL awards

Related News