PEARL Awards Inaugurates New Board of Governors, Plans to Expand into Africa

Proshare - Facebook Proshare - Twitter Proshare - Linked In Proshare - WhatsApp

Tuesday, September 04, 2018 7.00PM / Proshare WebTV

Organisers of PEARL Awards Nigeria’s premier for rewarding operational excellence and outstanding performance on the Stock Market, today inaugurated its new Patrons and Board of Governors in Lagos.

The new board members include;

1.Dr. Faruk Umar, Chairman

2.Mr. Tayo Orekoya, President/CEO  

3.Chief (Mrs.) Eniola Fadayomi, member

4.Chief (Mrs) Nike Akande, member 

5.Mr. Wole Adetunji, member

6.Dr. Biodun Adedipe, member

7.Mrs Lola Oyebadejo, member,

8.Mr Olufemi Awoyemi, member 

9.Mazi Sam Ohuabunwa, member 

10.Dr. Suleyman Ndanusa, member

11.Prince Abimbola Olashore, member

12.Mrs. Oluwatoyin Sanni, member  and

13.Mr. Lekan Adekoya as Board Secretary

Speaking at the inauguration the President/CEO, PEARL Awards Nigeria, Mr. Tayo Orekoya, said the exercise was necessary to inject freshness into the leadership of the Board.

According to him “As an institution desirous of continually reinventing itself, there is the need to reposition the Awards for enhanced performance over and above the level of successes achieved over the years. The need to be dynamic in the face of reality of technological, political and economic changes in our country and globally underpins the rationale behind the event of this day”.

“The PEARL Awards Project is committed to, and will continue to work assiduously to complement the efforts of other stakeholders of our capital market especially the regulatory authorities towards the restoration of investors’ confidence and the deepening of the market that will ensure recovery, stability and sustainable growth of our capital market.” He said.

It also featured the investiture of Ambassador Shehu Malami, CON and Alhaji Umaru.F. Abdullahi(Outgoing Chairman) as Patrons of the Awards for the first time.

Orekoya emphasized that the investiture was important to shore up the potentials of the event and elevate the credibility despite being rated as one of the most credible capital market awards.

The President/CEO of the PEARL Awards shared that “It is on record that the PEARL Award is the very first Award in Nigeria based on verifiable facts and figures and not subjective. Its criteria is measurable, using clear-cut indices such as Turnover Growth, Returns on Equity, Share Price Appreciations, Stock Activity, Net Assets Ratio, Dividend Yield, Earnings Yield, Dividend Growth and Profit Margin Ratio.

“It is also an Award for which no amount is charged or payable by recipients of the Award to qualify for, or receive same. And for the records its methodology and statistics with graphical illustrations, are published each year in its journal, the Nigerian Stock Market Annual, a compendium of contemporary capital market issues.” He added.

Giving his acceptance speech the new Chairman of the board of Governor Dr Faruk Umar pledged to uphold the values and standards of PEARL Awards.

In an interview with Proshare WebTV Mr Orekoya said the PEARL Awards was exploring expanding its frontier across Africa, after achieving two (2) decades of consistently hosting the awards.

Responding to the question on the possibilities of covering the unlisted securities, Orekoya the PEARL awards is mulling the plan to integrate a special awards section for the segment, and has been discussing with NASD OTC Securities Exchange.

Mrs Toyin Sanni member of the new board said “I consider the PEARL Awards to be an integral part of the capital market and it is an honour to be on this Board”.

Dr. Abiodun Adedipe another member of the new board also said “I see PEARL Awards going into greater heights and I want to say thank you for giving me the opportunity to serve in the Board.”

The 2018 PEARL Awards edition is scheduled to hold at the Eko Hotel and Suites on Sunday November 25, 2018.

Pearl Awards was instituted in 1995, as a private sector, not-for-profit, non-partisan and Non- Governmental initiative to reward companies quoted on the Nigerian Stock Exchange for outstanding operational and stock performance; thereby enhancing the vacancy, growth and development of the capital market.

It is endorsed by the Nigerian Capital Market and the Securities and Exchange Commission.

Proshare Nigeria Pvt. Ltd.

Proshare Nigeria Pvt. Ltd.


Related News

1.Ndanusa, Akande, Ohuabunwa, Olashore, Awoyemi, Sanni Join Pearl Awards Board

2.Heirs Holdings Investee Companies Shine at Pearl Awards…Sweep Up Six Awards

3.Gowon graces 2017 PEARL Awards, United Capital emerges overall winner

4.Suspense as Corporate Giants Battles For 2017 Pearl Awards

5.Tinubu, Gwarzo, Antwi, Osunkeye, Others for 20th PEARL Awards

Related News