New CBN DGs, MPC Members Assume Duty

Proshare - Facebook Proshare - Twitter Proshare - Linked In Proshare - WhatsApp

Wednesday, March 28, 2018 /05:03 PM / CBN 

Mrs. Aisha Ahmad and Mr. Edward Lametek Adamu have formally assumed duty as Deputy Governors of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN), following the confirmation of their appointments last week by the Nigerian Senate.  

The trio of Professor Adeola Festus Adenikinju, Dr. Robert Asogwa and Dr. Aliyu Rafindadi Sanusi were also at the Head Office of the CBN to formally commence their tenure as Members of the Monetary Policy Committee (MPC) of the Bank. 

Welcoming the new Deputy Governors and members of the MPC to the Bank, the Governor, Mr. Godwin Emefiele, prior to their subscription to the relevant Oaths of Office, congratulated them on their respective appointments by the President and subsequent confirmation by the Senate. 

Mr. Emefiele, flanked by Mr. Adebayo Adelabu and Dr. Joseph Okwu Nnanna, the Deputy Governors in charge of Operations and Financial System Stability (FSS), respectively, expressed gladness that the Bank now had a full complement of Deputy Governors to enable it operate optimally as well as the required quorum to enable the MPC hold its statutory meetings for formulating monetary and credit policy. 

He therefore charged the Deputy Governors and MPC members to bring their experience to bear in the discharge of their new responsibilities, stressing that much was expected of them. 

Mrs. Ahmad, Mr. Adamu and the three new MPC members subsequently subscribed to their Oaths of Office, administered by the Acting Director, Corporate Secretariat at the CBN, Mrs. Alice Karau. Thereafter, the Director, Monetary Policy Department (MPD), Mr. Moses Tule, read out the Charter of the MPC to new members before they retired into their maiden MPC retreat preparatory to the first MPC meeting for 2018 scheduled to hold on Tuesday, April 3 and Wednesday, April 4, 2018. 

It will be recalled that the Nigerian Senate on Thursday, March 22, 2018, confirmed the appointment of Mrs. Aisha Ahmad and Mr. Edward Adamu as substantive Deputy Governors of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) along with three members of the Monetary Policy Committee (MPC).

 Proshare Nigeria Pvt. Ltd.

Related News

1.       The 260th MPC Meeting to Hold April 3rd and 4th, 2018

2.      Senate Confirms Five CBN Nominees, Rejects Dr. Asheikh Maidugu

3.      Senate Confirms Aisha Ahmad and Edward Lametek Adamu as Deputy Governors of CBN

4.      Senate Mandates Committee To Report Back In A Week on CBN and MPC Members Confirmation

5.      Navigating Monetary Policy As Headwinds Shift To Tailwinds

6.      Weaker Dollar, Higher US Interest Rates, a Dilemma for a Central Bank With No Quorum

7.      Foreign Direct Investment and the Central Bank of Nigeria’s Monetary Policy

8.      Personal Statement by the MPC Members at the 116 MPC Meeting of Nov 20-21, 2017

9.      MPC: No Change With or Without a Meeting

10.   Statement on January 2018 Meeting of the Monetary Policy Committee

11.    January 2018 MPC Meeting: Caught Between Two Arms

12.   Senate Refuses to Budge on The Approval of Monetary Policy Committee Nominees

13.   Personal Statement by the MPC Members at the 115 MPC Meeting of Sep 25-26, 2017

Related News