Buhari Approves Reconstituted NSIA Board

Proshare - Facebook Proshare - Twitter Proshare - Linked In Proshare - WhatsApp

Thursday, March 23, 2017 1:19 PM/ by Ndubuisi Francis, Thisday

Almost two years after he dissolved the governing boards of federal agencies, President Muhammadu Buhari has ratified the reconstituted Board of the Nigeria Sovereign Investment Authority (NSIA), operators of Nigeria Sovereign Wealth Fund (NSWF).

The National Economic Council (NEC) had last month approved a list of six nominees for appointment into the board.

The nominees, representing each of the six geo-political zones in the country include Halima Buba (North-east), Bello Maccido (North–west), Lois Laraba Machunga-Disu (North-central), Olajide Zetilin (South-west), Urum Kalu Ekeh (South-east) and Asue Ighodalo (South-south).

NSIA, in a statement wednesday confirmed that President Buhari has approved the nominations for the reconstituted board.

“This mail serves to inform you that the list of nominees for the reconstituted Board of Directors of the Nigeria Sovereign Investment Authority as approved by the governing council has been ratified by His Excellency, the President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria,” the statement said.

The new board of NSIA has Mr. Olajide Zeitlin (South-west), a private sector player as Chairman.

Zeitlin is Independent Non-Executive Director at Vascular Biogenics Limited, Non-Executive Chairman at Coach, Inc; Independent Director at Affiliated Managers Group, Inc., Founder at The Keffi Group Limited, and a director at Independent Mobile Infrastructure Pvt Limited.

He was previously employed as Partner by the Goldman Sachs Group, Inc., Partner by Goldman Sachs and Co., and Treasurer and Director by Teach For America, Inc.

He bagged his first degree from Amherst College and an MBA from Harvard University. The NSIA was established by an Act of the National Assembly in May 2011. 

Related News 
1.       Mr. Atedo N.A. Peterside to Resign as Chairman of the Board Of Stanbic IBTC Holdings Plc
2.      Otudeko, FBN Holdings Group Chairman leads Conversation at the Africa CEO Forum 2017
3.      Mrs. Ndidi Okonkwo Nwuneli Resigns as a Non-Executive Director of Cornerstone Insurance Nigeria Plc
4.      Comments On The Resignation Of Charlotte Hogg of the Bank of England
5.      FMN Appoints Mrs. Salamatu Hussaini Suleiman as an Independent Non–Executive Director
6.      International Women's Day 2017: Onyema, Awe make case for Gender Integration in Nigeria
7.      Access Bank's Dolapo Ogundimu Voted Most Reputable Bank CEO in Ghana
8.     Cornerstone Insurance Plc Appoints New Directors
9.      Linkage Assurance Plc Appoints Dr. Pius Apere as CEO
10.  FG Appoints General Manager, Three New Directors For FAAN 

Related News