2nd FMDQ Gold Awards: Stanbic IBTC Emerges Primary and Secondary Market Award Winner

Proshare - Facebook Proshare - Twitter Proshare - Linked In Proshare - WhatsApp

Tuesday, November 12, 2019 / 1:46 PM / Ottoabasi Abasiekong for Proshare WebTV / Header Image Credit: WebTV

Stanbic IBTC, a leading Deposit Money Bank in Nigeria, emerged the Primary and Secondary markets award winners at the second edition of the FMDQ Gold Awards in Lagos recently.


The FMDQ Gold Awards was instituted to showcase principal market participants driving development through their activities in the Fixed Income Securities markets, thereby making them Globally Competitive, Operationally Excellent, Liquid and Diverse.


The event was a gathering of forefront stakeholders in Nigeria's financial markets alongside key market regulators.


The event which was graced with the presence of the Governor of Lagos State, Mr. Babajide Sanwoolu, also had in attendance the Acting Director-General of the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC), Ms Mary Uduk, the Director-General of the Debt Management Office (DMO), Ms Pat Oniha and the Special Adviser to Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) on Financial Market, Mr Emmanuel Ukeje.


Governor Babajide Sanwoolu, in his remarks, commended the FMDQ Securities Exchange for the role it has played in developing the fixed income, debt and derivatives market in the country.


He tasked market dealers to come up with products that can support the economic development objectives of Lagos and other Sub-nationals in the country, that will uplift millions of Nigerians out of poverty.


Highlights of the event were the FMDQ Next 2019 Class of students from various primary schools who wowed guests, partners, stakeholders and regulators with their knowledge of bonds, treasury bills, derivatives, central counterparty clearing, mutual funds, amongst other market concepts and terminologies.


The colourful event also featured celebrity star performances from Simi and Beejay Sax with Tee A (ace comedian) and Kate Henshaw (Nollywood actress) as co-anchors.


Governor Babajide Sanwoolu received the FMDQ Market Enabler award for his support to the market since he assumed office on May 29, 2019.


Below is the full list of the nominees and winners at the FMDQ Gold Awards;


Primary Market Awards

Largest Corporate Bond Issuer on FMDQ

  • Sterling Investment Management SPV PLC
  • Union Bank of Nigeria
  • Access Bank (Winner)


Largest Commercial Paper Issued on FMDQ

  • Dangote Cement PLC
  • Nigerian Breweries PLC
  • Stanbic IBTC Bank PLC (Winner)


Largest Fund Manager on FMDQ

  • Cordros Asset Management Limited
  • Chapel Hill Denham Advisory Limited (Winner)
  • FSDH Asset Management Limited


Most Market Impacting Issuer on FMDQ

  • Access Bank
  • Federal Government of Nigeria(Winner)
  • Chapel Hill Denham


FMDQ Registration Member (Listings)

  • Constant Capital Markets and Securities Limited
  • Chapel Hill Denham Advisory Limited (Winner)
  • Stanbic IBTC Capital Limited


FMDQ Registration Member (Quotation)

  • Stanbic IBTC Capital Limited  (Winner)
  • Coronation Merchant Bank Limited
  • FBN Quest Merchant Bank


Debt Capital Market Solicitors

  • G.Elias & Co
  • Udo Udoma and Bello-Osagie
  • Banwo & Ighodalo (Winner)

Debt Capital Markets Financing for Infrastructure Development

    • Chapel Hill Denham (Winner)
    • NSPSPV Power PLC


    Overall Primary Market Champion - Stanbic IBTC Bank PLC


    Secondary Market Awards


    FMDQ Fixed Income Market Liquidity Provider

    • United Bank for Africa PLC (Winner)
    • Access Bank PLC
    • Stanbic IBTC Bank PLC

    FMDQ Money Market Liquidity Provider

    • United Bank for Africa PLC
    • Access Bank PLC (Winner)
    • First Bank of Nigeria Limited


    FMDQ FX Market Liquidity Provider

    • United Bank for Africa PLC
    • Stanbic IBTC Bank PLC
    • Standard Chartered Bank Nigeria (Winner)


    FMDQ OTC FX Futures Bank

    • Standard Chartered Bank Nigeria Limited(Winner)
    • Citibank Nigeria Limited
    • Stanbic IBTC Bank PLC


    Most Active Corporate (Domestic) in the FX Futures Market

    • Multichoice Nigeria
    • Olam Nigeria Limited (Winner)
    • International Breweries


    Most Active Corporate (Foreign) in the FX Futures Market

    • Zenith Bank (Ghana) Limited
    • J.P Morgan Securities PLC
    • Standard Chartered Bank London (Winner)


    FMDQ Member Compliance

    • Union Bank of Nigeria PLC (Winner)
    • Heritage Bank PLC
    • Wema Bank PLC


      Secondary Market Award Overall Winner- Stanbic IBTC Bank PLC


       FMDQ Members & Clients' Choice Awards

    Financial Services Regulator Market Transformation Initiative

    • Securities and Exchange Commission, SEC-Winner
    • Central Bank of Nigeria -Winner


    Best Brokerage Service

    • Parthian Partners Limited
    • Zedcap Partners Limited (Winner)


    Most Active Buy-Side Participant In Fixed Income Market

    • Leadway Pensure PFA
    • Stanbic IBTC Pension Managers(Winner)
    • AIICO Capital Limited

    Most Active Corporate in the FX Market

    • MTN Nigeria Communications Limited
    • Olam Nigeria Limited (Winner)
    • Dangote Industries Limited

     Most Active Foreign Portfolio Investor in the Fixed Income and Currency Markets

    • Goldman Sachs International Bank, UK (Winner)
    • J.P. Morgan, UK
    • Societe Generale


    FMDQ Capital Market Catalyst

    • Infracredit (Winner)


    FMDQ Market Enabler

    • Governor Babajide Sanwoolu, Lagos State


    Proshare Nigeria Pvt. Ltd.

    Related News

    1.               British Deputy High Commissioner Lauds FMDQ For Its Role as An Innovative Financial Market

    2.              STL Trustees Wins Trustees of the Year Award

    3.              FCMB Wins Excellence Award in Customer Experience as Adam Nuru Emerges CEO of the Year

    4.              Euromoney 2019 Awards: GTB Named Best Bank in Africa

    5.              Dangote Retains Rank as the Number One Most Admired African Brand

    6.              2019 African Banker Awards Releases Nominees List, Event Scheduled for June 11

    7.              eTranzact Receives Award for Best Corporate Turnaround and Transformation

    8.             Club Inspirati Marks 10th Anniversary, Gets New Exco and Inaugurates BOT and BOP

    9.             CBN Deputy Governors, Amangbo and Others Bag CIBN Fellowship Award- Osibanjo, Gowon To Grace Event

    Proshare Nigeria Pvt. Ltd.

    Proshare Nigeria Pvt. Ltd.

    Related News